Brown Takes Another Win at Sacramento EnduroCross

By: | Monday, June 10, 2013

Photo: Ruiz

Sacramento, CA (June 8, 2013) – Mike Brown kept his streak going at round two of the 2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross series, fueled by Monster Energy and presented by Lucas Oil inside the Sleep Train Arena in Sacramento, California. The FMF KTM rider had a nearly perfect day by setting the fastest time during the daytime hot laps, winning his heat race and finishing a close second in the night time hot laps before leading every lap of the main event. “I have started the season really well but there is still a long ways to go for the championship” Brown said. “But this is like getting the holeshot on the season”.

Monster Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert was a very close second in the main event and kept the pressure on for the entire main event. He ate a lot of roost off of Brown’s rear wheel and eventually had to remove his goggles. “I just could not see because Brown was roosting me every lap when we exited the water hole.”

The battle for third was intense as RPM KTM’s Kyle Redmond held the spot for several laps before giving way to Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder. Then Graffunder came under intense pressure from Taddy Blazusiak and Colton Haaker, who had both moved through the pack after going down on the start. Haaker passed Blazusiak and made a last lap pass attempt on Graffunder and went down in the firewood pit. Graffunder held the final podium spot, Blazusiak passed the downed Haaker for fourth and Haaker recovered for fifth.

Sacramento, California GEICO AMA EnduroCross, fueled by Monster Energy Expert Main Event results:

1. Mike Brown KTM
2. Taylor Robert Kawasaki
3. Cory Graffunder Husqvarna
4. Taddy Blazusiak KTM
5. Colton Haaker Honda
6. Kyle Redmond KTM
7. Gary Sutherlin Kawasaki
8. Justin Soule Kawasaki
9. Max Gerston Beta
10. Eric Rhoten Beta
11. Jacob Argubright KTM
12. Ryan Sandoval KTM
13. Ricky Dietrich Honda

Brown now has a perfect 50 points to hold the GEICO AMA EnduroCross series lead ahead of Blazusiak with 40 and Robert is third with 37.

The night also included several amateur classes and Dirt Rider Magazine’s Adam Booth took the Vet class win ahead of Stephen Foord and Jason Gitchel. Justin Morgan won the Open Amateur class and was followed by Steven Godman and Kale Elworthy. The TrialsCross class was won by fourteen year old Ty Cullins, who was followed by Michael Salsman and Nathan Brown.

The Women’s main event was intense and sixteen year old Lexi Pechout took her first ever EnduroCross win. She was followed closely by fellow Canadian, Chantelle Bykerk. Rachel Gutish led all but the last lap before getting stuck in the firewood pit and dropping back to third.

The GEICO AMA EnduroCross series will take a summer break and resume action on Saturday, September 21st at the Citizens Business Bank Arena in Ontario, California. In the meantime, most of the top Expert and Female riders will compete in the two X Games events taking place during the break. The first of those will be held in Munich, Germany in less than three weeks on June 30th followed by X Games Los Angeles on August 4th.

Add a Comment

By submitting a comment you grant a perpetual license to reproduce your words, name and web site in attribution.
Comments may be removed at an administrators discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only and will never be shared.

GEICO Motorcycle

FMF Timing & Scoring


Follow Us On Facebook